Faculty of Animal Science and Aquaculture

 The Faculty of Animal Science and Aquaculture (ASA) is part of the Agricultural University of Athens (AUA). The University was founded in 1920 initially named Superior Agricultural College of Athens and it was the first University Institute in Agriculture and the third oldest University in Greece.

 The purpose of ASA is to train highly skilled scientists capable in applying the principles of biology, technology and economics in issues related to the production of farm and aquatic animals. The scientific fields covered by the Faculty are interdisciplinary as they combine Animal Husbandry, Veterinary Science, Aquaculture, Genetics, Nutrition, Physiology, Molecular Biology, Hygiene, Biotechnology, Economics, Ethology and Management. The ultimate aim of the Faculty is research and education towards improved Animal Production and Aquaculture.

 The Faculty graduates can hold positions in both public (Ministry of Agricultural Development, Banks etc) and private (Farming and Aquaculture Business, pharmaceutical industry etc) sectors, or be employed as researchers. 

Departments of the Faculty: 

Department of Anatomy and Physiology of Farm Animals

Department of Animal Breeding and Husbandry

Department of Nutritional Physiology and Feeding

Department of Applied Hydrobiology